top of page

All You Need to Know About Traveling to Italy

Where to go, what to do, and what to know to make that dream getaway to Italy come true! Take it from me, I studied abroad in Italy for four months this past February-May. I did my fair share of travel. By the time my four months had come and gone, I had visited 13 countries and 27 cities. 14 of those 26 cities happened to be in Italy. In today's post, I will be sharing where I think you should go, what is worth knowing before you visit each city, and what I would suggest doing. I hope you enjoy it!


Florence, Italy


A.k.a. my home away from home. Florence, also known as Firenze, was my home in Italy for my study abroad experience. I lived in this city for four months and I still have places I need to visit and things I need to do when I go back. Florence is rich in history and was formerly the capital of Italy. You may have heard of the infamous Medici family that sank its roots into this city and it is a major reason why Florence is on the map today.


Popular fashion houses Gucci, Salvatore Ferragamo, Emilio Pucci, and Roberto Cavalli began their careers here. A city widely known for being the epicenter of the Renaissance movement. To this day you can still visit historic buildings such as the Palazzo Vecchio, Pointe Vecchio, Pitti Palace, and the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore.


Here's what I recommend doing in Florence, Italy:
  1. Take a stroll along the Pointe Vecchio - This historic bridge is the first segmental arch bridge built in the West. What used to be residences are now jewelers. You have to take a peak at the pieces of jewelry on this bridge otherwise you'll regret it!

  2. Visit Scuola del Cuoio S.r.l. - This leather school crafts an impressive array of items in-house, from belts and purses to wallets, trays, keychains, and more. What sets them apart is the thoughtful touch of complimentary gold or silver initials embossed with every purchase. My own experience was delightful—I picked up a wallet and purse for myself while finding perfect gifts for my family and friends.

  3. Shop for one-of-a-kind jewelry at Giuliano Ricchi Jewelry - For decades,  Giuliano and his wife have been crafting the most exquisite, one-of-a-kind pieces in the San Spirito neighborhood. While they might not speak English, I promise you they are easy to understand and they try their best to understand you. A heads-up: they only accept cash, so bringing around 50 euros is wise. But trust me, every euro spent here is an investment in artistry and beauty that's simply unparalleled.

  4. Visit the Duomo - A.k.a. the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore. Need I say more?

  5. Explore Gucci Gardens' newest exhibit - Maybe even grab a bite to eat while you're at it! If you're a fashion lover like myself this is one of the coolest fashion exhibits to see. It is a little different from other European fashion house exhibits in that it does not speak or showcase much of Gucci's history. For the most part, it is an art exhibit. Great for taking cool photos and it changes regularly. In case you are debating buying anything Gucci while in Florence, I would check out the Gucci Gardens gift shop first before heading to any regular storefront. At Gucci Gardens they have unique merchandise you cannot find anywhere else. They also have a restaurant and cafe, however, reservations need to be made well in advance.

  6. Check out the Salvatore Ferragamo Museum - occupying the very space where the iconic Salvatore Ferragamo shoes were once meticulously crafted, the museum is a unique journey through the legacy of the Ferragamo family, shedding light on their profound impact on Florence and the revolutionary nature of Ferragamo's footwear. Beyond its historical significance, the museum offers a chance for visitors to immerse themselves in the brand's heritage while also exploring and purchasing Ferragamo's exquisite products conveniently located next door.

  7. Say "Hi" to David! -It's true that among all the incredible art in Florence, Michelangelo's David at the Accademia Gallery stands as a towering masterpiece. While the other pieces might pale in comparison, the Statue of David is a must-see. I HIGHLY recommend going first thing in the morning. It is less crowded so you get a better view of David and the wait is minimal to non-existent.

  8. Go visit the Medici Families' two Florentine homes: Palazzo Vecchio and the Pitti Palace - One of the coolest experiences I ever had was a tour of the secret passageways and tunnels used by the Medici family. This tour can be organized via the Palazzo Vecchio website. This was a guided tour of the Palazzo Vecchio and its secret passageways. My friends and I went to visit the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens on a morning with little to no crowds of people. This house is stunning and the gardens are special with their view over Florence. You cannot come to Florence and not visit one of these two gorgeous Medici residences.

  9. Eat at the Michelin Star restaurant Ristorante del Fagioli - Make sure you call and make a reservation ahead of time!! You'll thank me later. My friends and I couldn't get enough of this restaurant. We had our last meal together here. It is a popular Michelin star restaurant and it deserves all the hype. My favorite dish is the Gnocci! On one visit I got a bite of steak and it was unbelievable. One of the best pieces of steak I have ever had.







Cities I Loved and Where We Stayed that I Would Recommend:

Florence: We stayed at 2 hotels in Florence and both were amazing.

  1. numa I Rodo Rooms & Apartments - This hotel is directly across from the Duomo (city center). My mom and I secured a room with a view of the Duomo which was amazing to see everyday. This hotel has a rooftop bar and restaurant for guests and lockers to hold your luggage until your room is ready which is such a nice perk. This hotel is self-check-in and out so beware in case this is a make-or-break quality for you.

  2. Grand Hotel Baglioni - This hotel was so nice! I will say, this hotel was about a 5 min walk from the Duomo but it is a 2 min walk from the train station. This hotel was so nice and the staff was extremely pleasant. Our hotel room was straight out of a medieval Italian movie. The rooftop restaurant and bar was unbelievable! You could see Florence all around you. One bonus to this hotel with 24/7 front desk staff was the ability to have taxis ordered for us to go to dinner and the airport early in the morning.


Rome: One of the most amazing cities in Italy.

  1. H10 Palazzo Galla - This hotel was one of the best experiences my mom and I had on our entire trip around Italy. When we arrived at this hotel we were greeted by the doorman who took our luggage and poured us champagne while we checked in with the front desk. We were able to sit down at the front desk and the attendants made us dinner reservations for that night at a Michelin Star restaurant that, unbeknownst to us, is difficult to get a reservation at, let alone on the same day just hours before. The hotel had a bottle of champagne in our room and a gift bag waiting for us. Once we got back from dinner we made our way to the rooftop bar where we had an amazing view of the Altar of the Fatherland. The next day after hours of exploring Rome, we came back to our hotel room with another surprise champagne bottle waiting for us. The hotel was clean and in a prime location and in addition, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.


Lake Como: I loved visiting Como I visited twice. However, I would highly recommend staying in another town surrounding Lake Como such as Bellagio. Como has so many tourists and is extremely busy during the summer days. For a more relaxed experience, I would recommend staying in a different town and visiting Como.

  1. Palace Hotel - Once again this hotel was amazing. We arrived late at night but had the chance to visit the outdoor bar and restaurant. We got drinks and made a reservation at the hotel restaurant for the following night. The staff learned our names and every morning when we went to breakfast we sat at the same table which was lovely. This hotel was elegant and very city center. You could walk anywhere.

  2. Ostello Bello Lake Como - Beware this is a Hostel, however, it was a fantastic hostel. Upon arrival you get a free alcoholic drink coin to be redeemed at any point during your stay. The staff was friendly and the accommodation was amazing. They had a kitchen for guests to store and cook food. A bar and cafe for cocktails and breakfast. They had an outdoor eating area as well as a hammock yard. We got pizza delivered here one night and watched the Fiorentina vs. Roma football game on their projector outside.



Cities I Would Recommend Visiting and What to Do:
  • Venice:

  • Lake Como:

  • Rome:

  • Milan: I can't lie, we went to Milan and I got my wallet stolen in the first 5 minutes. I did not feel safe here and was genuinely on edge when my mom and I had to stop in Milan on our way to Lake Como. The metro was dirty and there were so many scams and pick-pocketers everywhere we went. However, I had other friends who went to Milan and had pleasant experiences so to each their own.





If you get the chance to visit Italy I hope you can consider my blog post in your planning. Thank you for taking the time to read this guide on visiting Italy. I hope you all enjoyed it!


Best,


Hampton





















bottom of page